Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 2001
Steady situation
Despite Seat departed from the championship at the end of 2000 season, entry lists did not shrink. Ford and Peugeot routinely ran three cars and Subaru even four at times while Mitsubishi, Skoda and Hyundai mostly two but occasionally more. Add to that four events where Citroen was present and season was quite exciting.

New events were not seen nor old ones thrown away. One of the curiosities of the season was that on two occasions rally winner did not score points for the team. Harri Rovanpera drove third, non-nominated Peugeot in Sweden and Jesus Puras won Corsica but Citroen was not eligible for manufacturers points.

Burns takes over
After narrow defeat in previous season, Burns collected drivers' title with single win though three other drivers scored three wins each. Championship was fiercely fought and four drivers came to final rally of the season with real chances for the title.

Peugeot took manufacturers title again but difficult early season made it all but easy. Title was finally clinched in Great Britain when Ford withdrew Sainz and Higgins after accident involving spectators.

In inaugural Super 1600 Cup Sebastien Loeb was in a league of his own, winning all five events he started and even had time to make guest appearance with Citroen Xsara WRC in San Remo where he finished second overall.

New cars
Mitsubishi introduced two new cars during the season, mildly updated Lancer Evo 6.5 in Monte Carlo and then radically new but hugely disappointing Lancer WRC in San Remo. More successful debut was new Citroen Xsara WRC which made first official WRC entry in Catalunya after years in development.

Subaru launched four-door Impreza WRC2001 in Monte Carlo but besides bodyshell there was little new on the car. Ford uprated Focus WRC, Hyundai evolutionized Accent WRC to second generation and Skoda did same with Octavia WRC. Also Peugeot introduced new version of already successful 206WRC.

(Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window)
2001 FIA World Rally Champions, Richard Burns and Robert Reid Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window
Drivers scoring their
first win
  H. Rovanpera (Sweden)
  J. Puras (Corsica)
first drivers' point
  G. Pozzo (Safari)
  S. Loeb (San Remo)
first stage win
  H. Gassner (Monte Carlo)
  M. Martin (Acropolis)
  S. Loeb (San Remo)