Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 2015
Ogiers third
Season 2015 went pretty much as it was expected to go. Ogier and Volkswagen were clear favourites to sweep home the titles and that is exactly what happened. And again, it happened with dominating style that has become their hallmark. Latvala, who supposedly was to be the main rival for Ogier, started season well with second place in Monte Carlo, but his season went downhill from there and he was able to secure second place in championship only after his mid-season win at Finland.

In fact, Volkswagen's third driver Mikkelsen was the one who made leap forward. Not only did he score his maiden WRC win following Ogier's last stage crash in Catalunya, he also upped his game so that he was on podium in most rallies, helping VW to score three 1-2-3 results in 2015. However, despite these successes, 2015 also marked occasion for the lowest point in VW's WRC career so far.

Until then, VW Polo had been not only fast but also very reliable. In Argentina, Ogier was first to hit problems as he retired with fuel supply problems in first day. Luckily for him and VW's continued scoring record, he was able to rejoin and eventually finished 17th. Latvala was not as lucky as he retired with same problem in final day while Mikkelsen hit rock in final stage and also retired. Thus Argentina was the season's only non-VW win and emotional maiden win for Citroen's Kris Meeke.

Meeke's and Mikkelsen's maiden wins made 2015 first season since 2002 where more than one driver have scored their first wins. This would bode good for next season but at the end of the year, Citroen delivered both good and not so good news. They did commit to WRC from 2017 onwards but decided not to take part in 2016 season with official team in order to develop new car for 2017 regulations, just like they had done in 2006 when developing C4 WRC.

Hyundai's second season was mixed. In manufacturer's championship, they drove Citroen hard and almost claimed second place in the championship. But while Neuville was their lead driver, in the season ending Rally GB he was demoted to drive in satellite team's car. Officially this was done to give him chance to drive without pressures and get ready for next season but to casual observer it looks like a reprimand. Neuville did not have same fire in him this year which shows in his scoring where team's second driver Sordo scored just one point less and season's revelation Paddon lay only six points away.

M-Sport's driver line-up was again the least experienced and bearing that in mind, their results were relatively good. One must admire Malcolm Wilson's determination to stay in the top category of rallying despite lack of factory support and major sponsorship.

In February, When Alsace lost major part of it's funding, French motorsport federation FFSA decided to move their allotted WRC round back to Corsica.

Sportingwise, the major change was when FIA banned splits from crews. This was done to prevent cruising, eg. controlling the gap when in comfortable lead but in practice it changed little. Drivers seem to be able to judge their own pace (and that of competitors) so well that no drama unfolded from lack of splits.

New cars
M-Sport debuted new-look Ford Fiesta WRC with updated components in Portugal. It was claimed to be 80% new but without full factory support and with no change in performance, car did not transform team's fortunes.

Sebastien Ogier
(Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window)
2015 FIA World Champions: Sebastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window
Drivers scoring their
first win
  K. Meeke (Argentina)
  A. Mikkelsen (Catalunya)
first drivers' point
  N. Fuchs Sierlecki (Mexico)
  D. Dominguez S. (Argentina)
  G. Saba Rodriguez (Argentina)
  S. Lefebvre (Deutschland)
first stage win
  P. Tidemand (Sweden)
  Y. Protasov (Sweden)