Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
    WRC Calendar
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 1981
Privateer champion
For a first and so far only time a driver of a private team managed to win the championship. Vatanen's struggle for the title was almost solely against Talbot's Guy Frequelin who drove more sensibly, scoring points more often than the reckless finn. But finally Vatanen's three wins and Frequelin's accident in RAC Rally decided the championship.

Besides the privateer champion and first win for a four-wheel driven car, 1981 also marked first win by a woman driver when Michele Mouton conquered San Remo. Besides Mouton, also Jean Ragnotti and Guy Frequelin scored maiden wins.

From world to southern America
Yet another new rally was introduced when Brazil joined the championship at the expense of New Zealand. Run only few weeks after rally in neighbouring Argentina, Brazil was a scene for a small scale fuel crisis. International rules permitted only cars using either petrol or diesel to feature in overall competition. This meant that local products using alternative fuels did the event but were not counted in overall results.

Because of this, only 20 entries took the start and nine finished. In addition to these petrol cars, 33 alcohol cars lined up at start and ten finished the rally.

New cars
The big news was appearance of the Audi quattro. Sceptics regarded it as too big, too heavy and too complex to make any impact and when Mouton's quattro failed to complete concentration run to Monaco, they seemed to be right. But once quattro hit the stages, all changed. After just six first competitive stages, Mikkola's Audi was already six minutes ahead of closest rival.

Another of the new cars was Renault 5 Turbo which won Monte Carlo outright after Mikkola's quattro went off the road. Yet another turbocharged car was Mitsubishi's new Lancer 2000 but did not enjoy similar success as Audi or Renault.

1981 FIA World Rally Champion, Ari Vatanen.
Drivers scoring their
first win
  J. Ragnotti (Monte Carlo)
  G. Frequelin (Argentina)
  M. Mouton (San Remo)
first drivers' point
  S. Nilsson (Sweden)
  K. Shinozuka (Portugal)
  J. Moutinho (Portugal)
  R. Cid (Portugal)
  P. Queiroz Pereira (Portugal)
  J. Shah (Safari)
  R. Hall (Safari)
  M. Smith (Safari)
  J. Ballet (Corsica)
  G. Swaton (Corsica)
  T. Kaby (Corsica)
  J. Tichadou (Corsica)
  C. Bartoli (Corsica)
  P. Moshoutis (Acropolis)
  'Carlo' (Acropolis)
  E. Soto (Argentina)
  R. Albertengo (Argentina)
  L. Romero (Argentina)
  M. Tubal (Argentina)
  H. Maglione (Argentina)
  L. Etchegoyen (Argentina)
  G. Trelles (Brazil)
  J. Berges (Brazil)
  M. Zacarias (Brazil)
  A. Laine (Finland)
  M. Biasion (San Remo)
  F. Ormezzano (San Remo)
  L. Battistoli (San Remo)
  J. Durieu (Ivory Coast)
  R. Clark (Great Britain)
first stage win
  O. Stromberg (Sweden)
  M. Mouton (Portugal)
  J. Recalde (Argentina)
  D. de Vitta (Brazil)
  M. Cinotto (San Remo)
  M. Biasion (San Remo)
  L. Battistoli (San Remo)
  S. Nilsson (Great Britain)
  T. Kaby (Great Britain)
  J. Raymond (Great Britain)