Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 1991
Kankkunen strikes back
After round eight of the season, Rally Argentina, Carlos Sainz had won five events and his title defense looked very strong indeed. Kankkunen won the next two events whereas in both Carlos went off, his roll in Australia being so violent that he had to contest San Remo wearing neck brace.

Season ended in a show-down at british forests from where Juha emerged as a winner and became first driver to win championship title more than twice.

Similar late-season charge was apparent in manufacturers championship too. Largely thanks to Sainz, Toyota had sizeable lead by mid-season but scored only 14 points in four final makes events while Lancia won all four.

Calendar was expanded to 14 events with addition of Rally Catalunya, a former European Rally Championship round.

New cars
There was only one debut of a completely new car, that of long-awaited Nissan Sunny GTI-R. Given the subsequent lessons, it was interesting that this car was debuted in arduous conditions of Safari rally. Sunny was an advanced design but suffered from having to use Dunlop tyres which were no match to Michelin or Pirelli but even more so from bad position of intercooler.

Drivers scoring their
first win
  K. Shinozuka (Ivory Coast)
  A. Schwarz (Catalunya)
first drivers' point
  J. Puras (Portugal)
  E. Harrach (Portugal)
  G. Jack (Safari)
  P. Bugalski (Corsica)
  J. Manzagol (Corsica)
  B. Stokes (New Zealand)
  B. Watkin (New Zealand)
  M. Sillankorva (Argentina)
  M. bin Sulayem (Argentina)
  N. Bates (Australia)
  A. Aghini (San Remo)
  J. Dupuis (Ivory Coast)
  D. Chaballe (Ivory Coast)
  P. Doue (Ivory Coast)
  N. Min (Ivory Coast)
  J. Ponce (Catalunya)
  L. Monzon (Catalunya)
  F. Capdevila (Catalunya)
  J. Bardolet (Catalunya)
  J. Casasayas (Catalunya)
  L. Aitken-Walker (Great Britain)
first stage win
  F. Delecour (Monte Carlo)
  T. Makinen (Finland)
  J. Bardolet (Catalunya)