Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Pre-season roundup
  Season 1973
  Season 1974
  Season 1975
  Season 1976
  Season 1977
  Season 1978
  Season 1979
  Season 1980
  Season 1981
  Season 1982
    WRC Calendar
    Rule changes
    Championship standings
    Result compilation
    Season statistics
  Season 1983
  Season 1984
  Season 1985
  Season 1986
  Season 1987
  Season 1988
  Season 1989
  Season 1990
  Season 1991
  Season 1992
  Season 1993
  Season 1994
  Season 1995
  Season 1996
  Season 1997
  Season 1998
  Season 1999
  Season 2000
  Season 2001
  Season 2002
  Season 2003
  Season 2004
  Season 2005
  Season 2006
  Season 2007
  Season 2008
  Season 2009
  Season 2010
  Season 2011
  Season 2012
  Season 2013
  Season 2014
  Season 2015
  Season 2016
  Season 2017
  Season 2018
  Season 2019
  Season 2020
  Season 2021
  Season 2022
  Season 2023
  Season 2024
  Home > Seasons > Season 1982
First double champion
1982 was again a year when history was made, Rohrl became first driver to win more than one world championship title. What made Walter's achievement special was the fact the he had faced long odds against powerful Audi team, withstood the pressure and eventually conquered the title. Michele Mouton's runner-up position was also a historical achievement which has never been bettered, so far.

Based on events of the previous season, it looked 1982 would be year of Hannu Mikkola and Audi quattro. In the end, Hannu was plagued by mechanical problems and also made number of his own errors, resulting a disastrous year. But in makes Audi managed to capture world title with all of their three drivers Mikkola, Mouton and Blomqvist contributing at least one win to overall score.

Calendar was to hold 13 events for a first time since oil crisis, but Rally Codasur in Argentina was cancelled due to Falklands War.

New cars
There were many new cars like various Nissan Silvia versions with or without turbo or Toyota's first successful Celica. But above all the others was Lancia's new weapon, the Rally 037. Car debuted in Corsica and it soon proved to be just about the only car to keep up with all-mighty Audi quattro even though good results avoided it during the year.

1982 FIA World Rally Champion
(Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window)
1982 FIA World Rally Champions, Walter Rohlr and Christain Geistdorfer Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window
Drivers scoring their
first win
  no new winners
first drivers' point
  D. Snobeck (Monte Carlo)
  J. Barth (Monte Carlo)
  P. Touren (Monte Carlo)
  M. Ericsson (Sweden)
  K. Grundel (Sweden)
  B. Thorsell (Sweden)
  F. Wittman (Portugal)
  C. Dorche (Portugal)
  M. Silva (Portugal)
  A. Ferreira da Cunha (Portugal)
  O. Tabatoni (Portugal)
  J. Fleck (Portugal)
  F. Tundo (Safari)
  R. Collinge (Safari)
  Y. Takahashi (Safari)
  J. Alam (Safari)
  R. Khoda (Safari)
  B. Beguin (Corsica)
  F. Vincent (Corsica)
  R. Simonetti (Corsica)
  J. McRae (Acropolis)
  A. Maniatopoulos (Acropolis)
  P. Moshoutis (Acropolis)
  T. Geminis (Acropolis)
  F. Heisler (Acropolis)
  R. Millen (New Zealand)
  J. Leyraud (New Zealand)
  T. Teesdale (New Zealand)
  R. Cook (New Zealand)
  A. Rodrigues (Brazil)
  H. Uotila (Finland)
  J. Kinnunen (Finland)
  H. Palmroos (Finland)
  S. Mustonen (Finland)
  M. Cinotto (San Remo)
  H. Toivonen (San Remo)
  L. Lupidi (San Remo)
  V. Caneva (San Remo)
  E. Salim (Ivory Coast)
  M. Wilson (Great Britain)
first stage win
  D. Snobeck (Monte Carlo)
  F. Wittman (Portugal)
  A. Tognana (San Remo)
  H. Demuth (San Remo)
  L. Lampi (Great Britain)