Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
  Canada - Quebec
  Canada - Rideau Lakes
  Great Britain
  Ivory Coast
  Monte Carlo
    Monte Carlo 1973
    Monte Carlo 1975
    Monte Carlo 1976
    Monte Carlo 1977
    Monte Carlo 1978
    Monte Carlo 1979
    Monte Carlo 1980
    Monte Carlo 1981
      Entry list
      Stage winners
      Final results
      Championship points
    Monte Carlo 1982
    Monte Carlo 1983
    Monte Carlo 1984
    Monte Carlo 1985
    Monte Carlo 1986
    Monte Carlo 1987
    Monte Carlo 1988
    Monte Carlo 1989
    Monte Carlo 1990
    Monte Carlo 1991
    Monte Carlo 1992
    Monte Carlo 1993
    Monte Carlo 1994
    Monte Carlo 1995
    Monte Carlo 1997
    Monte Carlo 1998
    Monte Carlo 1999
    Monte Carlo 2000
    Monte Carlo 2001
    Monte Carlo 2002
    Monte Carlo 2003
    Monte Carlo 2004
    Monte Carlo 2005
    Monte Carlo 2006
    Monte Carlo 2007
    Monte Carlo 2008
    Monte Carlo 2012
    Monte Carlo 2013
    Monte Carlo 2014
    Monte Carlo 2015
    Monte Carlo 2016
    Monte Carlo 2017
    Monte Carlo 2018
    Monte Carlo 2019
    Monte Carlo 2020
    Monte Carlo 2021
    Monte Carlo 2022
  New Zealand
  San Remo
  USA - Olympus
  USA - Press on Regard.
  Home > Rallies > Monte Carlo > Monte Carlo 1981 > Stage winners
Stage winners
 Stage Winner Time Avg.speed
 SS1  Veniper - La Feclaz     14.00 km    Mikkola, Hannu    10m 32s     79.75 km/h  
 SS2  Bellecombette - Le Sappey     44.00 km    Mikkola, Hannu    36m 16s     72.79 km/h  
 SS3  St Barthelemy - Lavaldens     19.00 km    Mikkola, Hannu    16m 09s     70.59 km/h  
 SS4  Pont du Fosse - Romette     21.00 km    Mikkola, Hannu    16m 01s     78.67 km/h  
 SS5  Col des Garcinets - Bayons     22.00 km    Mikkola, Hannu    20m 46s     63.56 km/h  
 SS6  Sisteron - Melan     28.00 km    Mikkola, Hannu    25m 53s     64.91 km/h  
 SS7  Moulinet - La Bollene 1     22.00 km    Darniche, Bernard    18m 18s     72.13 km/h  
 SS8  Pont des Miolans - St Auban 1     24.00 km    Saby, Bruno    16m 20s     88.16 km/h  
 SS9  Col de Faye     13.00 km    Saby, Bruno    8m 40s     90.00 km/h  
 SS10  Laborel - Montauban     20.00 km    Mikkola, Hannu    13m 59s     85.82 km/h  
 SS11  La Motte Chalancon - St Nazaire le Des     23.00 km    Frequelin, Guy    18m 00s     76.67 km/h  
 SS12  Le Moulinon - Antraigues     38.00 km    Ragnotti, Jean    26m 25s     86.31 km/h  
 SS13  La Souche     27.00 km    Ragnotti, Jean    19m 35s     82.72 km/h  
 SS14  Burzet - Mezilhac     32.00 km    Therier, Jean-Luc    21m 10s     90.71 km/h  
 SS15  St Bonnet le Froid     26.00 km    Frequelin, Guy    19m 59s     78.07 km/h  
 SS16  St Jean en Royans - La Chapelle en Vercors     38.00 km    Ragnotti, Jean    27m 54s     81.72 km/h  
 SS17  St Barthelemy - St Michel des Portes     37.00 km    Ragnotti, Jean    35m 05s     63.28 km/h  
 SS18  Les Savoyons - Barcillonnette     16.00 km    Ragnotti, Jean    14m 43s     65.23 km/h  
 SS19  Chorges - Savines     16.00 km    Therier, Jean-Luc    13m 12s     72.73 km/h  
 SS20  Bif N94/D994 - St Sauveur     20.00 km    Ragnotti, Jean    18m 50s     63.72 km/h  
 SS21  Col des Garcinets     22.00 km    Therier, Jean-Luc    18m 37s     70.90 km/h  
 SS22  Col du Corobin 1     16.00 km    Mikkola, Hannu    15m 11s     63.23 km/h  
 SS23  Trigance - St Auban     27.00 km    Therier, Jean-Luc    19m 39s     82.44 km/h  
 SS24  Les 4 Chemins 1     16.00 km    Almeras, Jacques    9m 13s     104.16 km/h  
 SS25  Moulinet - La Bollene 2     22.00 km    Darniche, Bernard    17m 42s     74.58 km/h  
 SS26  St Sauveur - Beuil     21.00 km    Darniche, Bernard    15m 09s     83.17 km/h  
 SS27  Pont des Miolans - St Auban 2     24.00 km    Darniche, Bernard    15m 48s     91.14 km/h  
 SS28  Annot - Pont de Villardon     25.00 km    Frequelin, Guy    15m 49s     94.84 km/h  
 SS29  St Jeannet - Bif D12/D17     18.00 km    Frequelin, Guy    13m 41s     78.93 km/h  
 SS30  Col du Corobin 2     16.00 km    Ragnotti, Jean    14m 27s     66.44 km/h  
 SS31  Trigance - Chateauvieux     27.00 km    Darniche, Bernard    19m 31s     83.01 km/h  
 SS32  Les 4 Chemins 2     16.00 km    Darniche, Bernard    9m 16s     103.60 km/h  
Rally leaders
  SS1 to SS10   Mikkola, Hannu  
  SS11 to SS24   Therier, Jean-Luc  
  SS25 to SS32   Ragnotti, Jean  
Stage wins
Mikkola, Hannu: 8
Ragnotti, Jean: 7
Darniche, Bernard: 6
Frequelin, Guy: 4
Therier, Jean-Luc: 4
Saby, Bruno: 2
Almeras, Jacques: 1
Audi has arrived
Monte Carlo 1981 was Audi quattro's first WRC event and as a such, stuff of legends. Mikkola's lead at the end of Leg 2 over Therier was 5 minutes 54 seconds.

Normally carries only stage winner's time but to mark this special occasion, here are top-3 stage times for Leg 2 to illustrated Audi's superiority.

SS1 (mostly snow and ice)
Mikkola 10m 32s
Saby +50s
Ragnotti +54s

SS2 (packed snow)
Mikkola 36m 16s
Saby +1m 57s
Ragnotti +2m 01s

SS3 (snow)
Mikkola 16m 09s
Ragnotti +19s
Therier +31s

SS4 (drifting snow and ice)
Mikkola 16m 01s
Alen +39s
Waldegaard +47s

SS5 (icy)
Mikkola 20m 46s
Waldegaard +3s
Ragnotti +9s

SS6 (dry, later ice and snow)
Mikkola 25m 53s
Therier +30s
Ragnotti +43s