Powered by Google
      decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration       decoration      
    A to C
    D to J
    K to O
      Kallstrom, Harry
      Kangas, Juha
      Kankkunen, Juha
      Katajamaki, Kosti
      Katsuta, Takamoto
      Kopecky, Jan
      Korhonen, Roope
      Kresta, Roman
      Kristensson, Tom
      Kubica, Robert
      Kullang, Anders
      Lappi, Esapekka
      Latvala, Jari-Matti
      Lefebvre, Stephane
      Liatti, Piero
        Piero's WRC starts
        News and timeline
      Lindholm, Emil
      Lindholm, Sebastian
      Loeb, Sebastien
      Loix, Freddy
      Loubet, Pierre-Louis
      Madeira, Rui
      Makinen, Timo
      Makinen, Tommi
      Martin, Markko
      McRae, Alister
      McRae, Colin
      McShea, Niall
      Meeke, Kris
      Mehta, Shekhar
      Mikkelsen, Andreas
      Mikkola, Hannu
      Moutinho, Joaquim
      Mouton, Michele
      Munari, Sandro
      Neuville, Thierry
      Nicolas, Jean-Pierre
      Nittel, Uwe
      Novikov, Evgeny
      Ogier, Sebastien
      Oreille, Alain
      Ostberg, Mads
    P to S
    T to Z
    Life of driver
  Team managers
  Other people
  Home > People > Drivers > K to O > Liatti, Piero
Piero Liatti
Piero stepped into rallying and WRC at relatively late stage, contesting his first rally at the age of 23. He learned fast, winning italian Fiat Uno Trophy next year and expanding his activities for next year thanks to prize money he won. Step by step his career progressed and in 1991 Piero won European Championship, driving Lancia Delta.

Then Lancia terminated their official involvement with WRC and by 1993 Piero had connections with Prodrive and soon was testing Subaru Legacy, contesting his first rally with the car only little later in June 1993. From humble beginnings Prodrive got more and more interested until he was signed to do a few WRC events with the team.

Modest WRC programme was padded with Asia-Pacific championship and suddenly Piero found out that he had quite a number of rallies to contest in. After Sainz left Subaru in 1996, Piero's role was enlarged and eventually he contested almost full season alongside Colin McRae in 1998. He never quite made his name on gravel events though he was reliable if not fast driver. His single WRC win came in Monte Carlo 1997.

From Subaru Piero moved to Seat for 1999 season. Fabrizia Pons refused to accompany him, seeing the move as a step to wrong direction. Partnering with Carlo Cassina, Piero did his best at Seat but could not work miracles and was soon dropped in favour of Didier Auriol. Last real chance came with Ford, with whom Liatti did two tarmac events in 2000 to no great avail. He then did six events with Hyundai but those were, if possible, even worse that the time at Seat.

WRC starts:53
first: San Remo 1990
latest: Sardinia 2004
Resultswins:1 (1.9% of starts)
second places: 6 
third places: 2  
total podiums: 9 (17.0% of starts)
points finishes: 28  
total points scored: 164  (drivers' championship points)
DNF's: 18 (34.0% of starts)
Stage wins: 72 
First WRC event: 1990 San Remo
First DNF: 1994 San Remo
First scored point: 1990 San Remo (5th)
First stage win: 1990 San Remo (SS34)
First time led rally: 1996 Catalunya (SS2)
First podium: 1992 New Zealand
First win: 1997 Monte Carlo
Career summary
  Team  StartsWinsPodiumsDNF'sPointsRank
 1990  Private1 0 0 0 8 31st 
 1991  Private1 0 0 0 4 46th 
 1992  Private3 0 1 0 22 12th 
 1993  Private1 0 0 0 10 26th 
 1994  Private1 0 0 1 0  -   
 1995  Subaru3 0 1 0 21 8th 
 1996  Subaru8 0 2 1 56 5th 
 1997  Subaru5 1 3 0 24 6th 
 1998  Subaru11 0 2 3 17 7th 
 1999  Seat9 0 0 6 1 23rd 
 2000  Ford2 0 0 1 1 24th 
 2001  Hyundai6 0 0 5 0  -   
 2003  Private1 0 0 0 0  -   
 2004  Private1 0 0 1 0  -   
Piero Liatti
Nationality: Italy
Birthday: 07-May-1962

Piero Liatti
(Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window)
Piero and Fabrizia Pons standing on their victorious Subaru Impreza WRC97 in Monte Carlo 1997. Click picture to see larger version in a pop-up window